About ClassicPress

The concept of ClassicPress was launched by Scott Bowler on August 18th 2018. Within a week word had spread around the globe and people started to volunteer to help change ClassicPress from a simple idea to a reality. The evolution of ClassicPress has been phenomenal – we went from zero to a team of 15+ volunteers in a matter of weeks.

ClassicPress styles itself as a community-led fork of the WordPress content management system. We want to get back to basics and focus on open dialogue and democratic decisions. To learn more, view our mission statement.

ClassicPress is released under the GNU General Public License version 2 (GPLv2) (or later) license from the Free Software Foundation. A copy of the license is included with every copy of ClassicPress, but you can also read the text of the license at https://www.gnu.org/licenses/old-licenses/gpl-2.0.en.html.

Among other things, the GPLv2 license requires that any code you write that derives from ClassicPress, and which you distribute for use by others, will automatically be covered by the GPLv2 license.

Nothing published on any site associated with ClassicPress, or said by anyone associated with ClassicPress, constitutes legal advice. If you are unsure whether your code, theme, or plugin is derivative, or have any other question about the terms of the GPLv2 license, you should contact a lawyer for appropriate legal advice.

Founding Committee

The founding committee are the first group of people who formed the initial ClassicPress committee. The members can be seen below:

  • Pieter Bos
  • Scott Bowler
  • Michelle Coe
  • Fredrik Forsmo
  • Rui Guerreiro
  • Ray Gulick
  • Tim Kaye
  • Charles Lecklider
  • James Nylen
  • Daniele Scasciafratte
  • Wade Striebel
  • Fabian Wolf